CRANBERRIES

AIR POCKETS

SCIENCE & HEALTH

FIRM FLESH

The oil extracted from cranberry seeds contains an impressive amount of the omega-3 alpha-Linolenic acid (ALA). It is one of the rare vegetable oils that has a 1:1 ratio of omega-3 to omega-6. Thanks to its high concentration of vitamin E, it is often used in the pharmaceutical industry in skin treatments.

Cranberries get their red colouring from high concentrations of anthocyanidins, the molecules that are responsible for the red pigments of the skin. This colourful molecule also has a high antioxidant potential.

RICH SEEDS
RED SKIN

Cranberries have four air pockets inside that allow them to float to the surface of water. This makes harvesting them particularly interesting.

Their acidic, firm flesh contains dietary fibre. The juice that is extracted from the fruit has the same acidic pH as lemon juice and is high in vitamin C.

CRANBERRIES: A VERSATILE FRUIT

Native Americans discovered cranberries well before our ancestors arrived, and science confirms it today: in addition to being a delicious fruit, cranberries have a lot of health benefits. Classified as a functional food, which Health Canada defines as food that is similar in appearance to conventional foods that are used in normal diets and provide, in addition to their basic nutritional functions, proven physiological benefits or reduce the risk of chronic disease.

Cranberries are made up of several polyphenols, a family of antioxidants that includes proanthocyanidin, a molecule that has a unique type A structure in cranberries. The antioxidant properties of cranberries are superior to that of blueberries, plums, blackberries, raspberries, apples, strawberries and grapes. According to researchers, antioxidants help to neutralize free radicals, which are unstable molecules in the body that can damage the cellular membrane over time and cause cancer or cardiovascular disease. By eating cranberries, we can prevent some of these illnesses.

 

What's more is that due to the antioxidants found in cranberries, they help to increase “good cholesterol” which, contrary to “bad cholesterol,” cleans the artery walls. In this sense, they are similar to red wine. Furthermore, cranberries also have antiadhesive properties that help to fight URINARY TRACT INFECTIONS and gastrointestinal upset, and they even improve oral health. The proanthocyanidins found in cranberries act as an antiadhesive and prevent bacteria from sticking to the intestinal walls, stomach, gums and bladder, preventing infection.  Cranberries can therefore reduce the need to rely on antibiotics.

CRANBERRIES: ANTIOXIDANTS  

 

Recent studies have shown that the components in cranberries have an effect on 80% of the bacteria that are resistant to antibiotics. This includes the bacteria Escherichia coli (E. coli), which is responsible for the majority of urinary tract infections (cystitis), particularly in women. However, it is not that the components of cranberries kill bacteria. They simply act as a shield to prevent bacteria from adhering to the targeted organ. These antiadhesive properties prevent infections in the stomach, particularly chronic gastritis and gastric ulcers. Cranberries also reduce the risk of dental cavities and plaque, which can cause gum disease (gingivitis and periodontitis).


Apart from proanthocyanidins, research has also shown that other types of polyphenols (including flavonoids) present in cranberries slow the growth of different types of cancer. There is a lot of research being done to try to assess the anticarcinogenic potential of cranberries. Let's not forget that cranberries are also an excellent source of vitamin C. All you need is half a cup of fresh cranberries to meet the recommended daily amount for adults. It is not surprising that back in the 17th century, sailors from eastern North America would eat a lot of cranberries during their long stints at sea to help prevent scurvy. Although they noticed the benefits of these small berries in preventing the illness, they couldn't have known at the time that it was due to their high concentration of vitamin C.

TO FIGHT AND PREVENT URINARY TRACT INFECTIONS (CYSTITIS):

Cranberries protect against infections, particularly urinary tract infections in women, because they contain a certain type of flavonoid that prevents bacteria from sticking to the urinary tract walls. UTIs are one of the most common bacterial infection. It is a recurring problem in 25% of women. The E. coli bacteria, which is responsible for 80 to 90% of these infections, is becoming more and more resistant to antibiotics. Recent studies have shown that the antibacterial components in cranberries have an effect on 80% of the bacteria that are resistant to antibiotics.

 

Here are 3 NUTRA-FRUIT products that have the highest concentration of cranberries to include in a healthy, varied diet:

LA CANNEBERGE

ALVÉOLES

SCIENCE  & SANTÉ

CHAIRE FERME

L’huile extraite des pépins de la canneberge renferme une quantité impressionnante d’oméga-3 de type alphalinolénique (ALA). C’est une des très rares huiles végétales à présenter un ratio 1 pour 1 entre oméga-3 et oméga-6. Grâce à sa riche concentration en vitamine E, On l’utilise dans l’industrie pharmaceutique pour les traitements de la peau.

La couleur rouge de la canneberge lui est donnée par sa forte concentration en anthocyanidines, les molécules responsables des pigments rouges de sa peau. Cette molécule colorée est aussi porteuse d’un important potentiel antioxydant.

PÉPINS RICHES
PEAU ROUGE

Les quatre petites alvéoles à l’intérieur du fruit lui permettent de flotter à la surface de l’eau, ce qui rend la récolte si particulière et surtout, spectaculaire.

La chaire ferme et acidulée contient des fibres alimentaires. Le jus qui en est extrait présente le même pH acide que le jus de citron et contient une forte teneur en vitamine C.

LA CANNEBERGE: UN FRUIT POLYVALENT

Les Amérindiens l’avaient découvert bien avant l’arrivée de nos ancêtres et la science nous le confirme aujourd’hui : en plus d’être un aliment savoureux, la canneberge a des effets extrêmement bénéfiques sur la santé. Ce qui la classe parmi les aliments fonctionnels, que Santé Canada définit comme des aliments semblables en apparence aux aliments conventionnels, qui font partie de l’alimentation normale et qui procurent, au-delà des fonctions nutritionnelles de base, des bienfaits physiologiques démontrés ou réduisent le risque de maladies chroniques.

La canneberge est composée de plusieurs polyphénols, une famille d’antioxydants dont fait partie la proanthocyanidine, une molécule qui contient chez la canneberge une structure unique de type A. Les propriétés antioxydantes de la canneberge seraient de ce fait supérieures à celles du bleuet, de la prune, de la mûre, de la framboise, de la pomme, de la fraise et du raisin. Selon la communauté scientifique, l’activité antioxydante permet de neutraliser les radicaux libres, des molécules instables du corps qui, à long terme, peuvent dégrader la membrane des cellules et causer des maladies cardiovasculaires ou cancéreuses. La consommation de canneberges préviendrait donc certaines de ces maladies.

 

De plus, par son action antioxydante, la canneberge favorise l’augmentation du « bon cholestérol » qui, contrairement au « mauvais cholestérol », nettoie les parois des artères. Elle s’apparente en ce sens au vin rouge. Par ailleurs, il est aussi reconnu que les propriétés antiadhésives de la canneberge aideraient à lutter contre les INFECTIONS URINAIRES et les désordres gastro-intestinaux, et amélioreraient même la santé dentaire. La proanthocyanidine de la canneberge agirait comme antiadhésif et empêcherait les bactéries responsables des infections de se fixer aux parois des intestins, de l’estomac, des gencives et de la vessie. La canneberge réduirait de cette façon le recours aux antibiotiques.

LA CANNEBERGE : ANTIOXYDANTS  

 

Des études récentes ont démontré que les composés de la canneberge agissaient sur 80 % des bactéries résistantes aux antibiotiques. Parmi celles-ci, on retrouve la bactérie Escherichia coli (E. coli), responsable de la majorité des infections urinaires (cystite), particulièrement chez la femme. Cependant, il ne faut pas croire que les composés de la canneberge tuent les bactéries. Ils servent simplement de bouclier en les empêchant d’adhérer aux organes visés. Cette activité antiadhésion préviendrait les infections à l’estomac, notamment les gastrites chroniques et les ulcères gastriques. Elle réduirait aussi la formation de la carie dentaire et de la plaque dentaire responsable des maladies de gencives (gingivite et parodontite).


Outre la proanthocyanidine, des recherches ont démontré que d’autres sortes de polyphénols (dont la famille des flavonoïdes) présents dans la canneberge ralentiraient la croissance de différents types de cancers. Plusieurs recherches sont en cours dont un grand nombre tentent de mesurer le potentiel anticancérigène de la canneberge. N’oublions pas que la canneberge est une excellente source de vitamine C. Il suffit de 115 ml de canneberges fraîches pour combler l’apport journalier recommandé pour un adulte. Pas étonnant que dès le XVIIe siècle, les marins de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord en consommaient beaucoup durant leurs longs périples en mer, afin de lutter contre le scorbut. Bien qu’ils aient remarqué les bienfaits de la petite baie contre la maladie, ils ne pouvaient pas savoir, à l’époque, que cette vertu était due à sa haute teneur en vitamine C.

POUR LUTTER ET PRÉVENIR LES INFECTIONS URINAIRE (CYSTITE):

La canneberge possède des vertus de protection contre les infections particulièrement celles du système urinaire chez la femme, car elle contient un certain type de flavonoïde empêchant les bactéries de se coller aux parois du canal urinaire. Les infections urinaires comptent parmi les infections bactériennes les plus courantes. Elles touchent de façon récurrente 25 % des femmes. La bactérie E. coli, qui cause 80 à 90 % de ces infections, devient de plus en plus résistante aux antibiotiques. Les dernières recherches montrent que les composés antibactériens de la canneberge agissent sur 80 % des bactéries résistantes aux antibiotiques.

Voici les 3 produits  NUTRA-FRUIT les plus concentrés en canneberges pures à inclure dans une alimentation saine et variée:

BOUTIQUE USINE OUVERTE À L'ANNÉE

LUNDI - VENDREDI                                  8h00-16h00     

SAMEDI-DIMANCHE                                          FERMÉ

                      

NUTRA-FRUIT INC.

NOUS JOINDRE

3200, Ave. Watt, Suite 108. Québec, QC G1X 4P8

ADRESSE

  • nutra-fruit
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2017 par Nutra-Fruit Inc.