IMG_8028_edited
IMG_7977_edited_edited
IMG_8013_edited
 “HOW THEY HARVEST CRANBERRIES IS REALLY SOMETHING ELSE, AS YOU CAN SEE IN THESE IMAGES FROM OUR REGIONAL PRODUCERS IN BOIS-FRANCS, IN THE CENTRE OF QUEBEC. “
GROWING CRANBERRIES, A TRUE QUEBEC GEM.  
At the end of spring, the buds transform into beautiful little white flowers. The pollination period then begins.

The fruit changes from white to red, until it reaches a beautiful bright red. As the cranberries ripen, the sugar and anthocyanin content increases.

The cranberry harvesting period usually goes from the end of September to the end of October. The cooler evenings and sunny days help the fruit ripen and gain its colour.

A PLANT THAT BEARS FRUIT. 

Cranberries are edible berries that grow on shrubs from the Ericaceae family. They grow in the wild in eastern North America in acidic bogs. The scientific name for the plant is Vaccinium Macrocarpon. In French, there are many different names for the little red acidic berries that the plant produces. In Quebec, we call them “canneberges” or “atocas” (or “atacas”). The Madelinots, from the Magdalen Islands, called them “pommes de pré.” In certain parts of Europe, they call them “pois de fagne” or “airelles.” In English, we just call them cranberries.


As we can see with the Iroquois name “atoca,” cranberries were well known to the Native Americans. In fact, they were picking these berries long before the first European settlers arrived. They used them for a variety of different things. In the fall, they extracted a juice high in vitamin C that, on top of quenching their thirst, was used as ink and dye for clothing. They would then mix the pulp from the dried fruit with animal fat and dried, powdered deer meat (or other meat from the Cervidae family). This highly nutritious mixture, called pemmican, had a shelf life of about ten years. It was used particularly for arctic expeditions and as a food source during periods of scarcity. The Native Americans created a plethora of recipes that are still popular today. They processed the fresh fruit into sauces and jellies. Any berries that were not harvested in the fall would ferment and become very popular alcoholic fruit in the spring. In addition to being used as a preservative, ink and dye, cranberries were also used by Native Americans as a remedy, particularly in the form of a poultice, which was very effective at treating wounds, or as a tea, to relieve certain types of pain.


Cranberries started to be grown in Massachusetts in 1816. In the following years, production expanded into Wisconsin, and then New Jersey. It wasn't until the 1930s when cranberries started to be grown in Quebec. Nowadays, they are mainly grown in the northern United States and in Canada (Quebec, Maritimes, Ontario and BC). The United States produce about 85% of the world's supply, while Canada only produces 12%. Cranberries are also grown in certain European countries, such as Belarus and the Ukraine. Quebec currently holds the first place for cranberry production in Canada.

 

The cranberry industry in Quebec has grown substantially. We now have more than 72 cranberry producers in the province, while there were only three in 1992. Quebec also has the third largest surface area for production in the world, after Wisconsin and Massachusetts. We are also the first producer of organic cranberries in the world.


As more and more cranberries are produced, processing companies are expanding their product lines. While 80% of production is still processed into juice, there are several other products derived from cranberries that are available on the market. In Quebec, the processed fruit is generally sold in the form of fresh fruit, whole frozen fruit, juice concentrates or dehydrated fruit.

 

NUTRA-FRUIT stands out by offering vinaigrettes, confits, jellies, spreads, coulis, powdered cranberries, chocolate-covered cranberries and cranberry seed oil. We are far past the time when cranberries were only eaten as a sauce to accompany a traditional holiday turkey dinner.

" LA RÉCOLTE DES CANNEBERGES EST SPECTACULAIRE COMME EN TÉMOIGNENT CES IMAGES PRISES CHEZ NOS PRODUCTEURS DE LA RÉGION DES BOIS-FRANCS DANS LE CENTRE DU QUÉBEC. "
LA CULTURE DE LA CANNEBERGE EST UN JOYAU DU TERROIR QUÉBÉCOIS.  
À la fin du printemps, les bourgeons se transforment en de belles petites fleurs blanches. C'est la période de pollinisation qui débute.
Les fruits passent de la couleur blanche à la couleur rouge,  atteignant un beau rouge vif. Au fur et à mesure que les canneberges mûrissent, le taux de sucre et d'anthocyanine augmen-te.
La période de récolte des canne-berges s’étend habituellement de la fin septembre à la fin octobre. Les nuits fraîches et les journées ensoleillées favorisent le mûrisse-ment des fruits et sa coloration.
UNE PLANTE QUI A PORTÉ SES FRUITS. 
La canneberge est un arbrisseau à baies comestibles de la famille des éricacées qui pousse à l’état naturel dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord sur les sols acides des tourbières. Son nom scientifique est Vaccinium Macrocarpon. Diverses dénominations sont utilisées pour désigner le petit fruit rouge au goût acidulé qu’elle produit. Au Québec, on le connaît sous les noms de canneberge et d’atoca (ou ataca). Les Madelinots, eux, l’appellent pomme de pré. Pour certains Européens, il s’agit plutôt de pois de fagne ou d’airelles. En anglais, on le nomme « cranberry ».

Comme en témoigne l’origine iroquoise du nom atoca, la canneberge était bien connue des Amérindiens. En fait, ils la cueillaient bien avant l’arrivée des premiers colons européens. L’utilisation qu’ils en faisaient était multiple. À l’automne, ils en extrayaient un jus riche en vitamine C qui, en plus d’étancher la soif, servait d'encre et de teinture pour les vêtements. Ils mélangeaient ensuite la pulpe du fruit séché à de la graisse animale et à de la viande de cervidés séchée réduite en poudre. Ce pâté très nutritif appelé pemmican avait la capacité de se conserver plus d'une dizaine d'années. Il était surtout utilisé pour les expéditions polaires et comme source d'aliments en période de disette. Les Amérindiens ont, par ailleurs, développé une panoplie de recettes encore populaires aujourd'hui. Ils transformaient les fruits frais en sauce et en gelée. Les baies qui n'avaient pas été récoltées à l'automne fermentaient pour devenir des fruits alcoolisés très prisés au printemps. En plus de servir d’agent conservateur, d’encre et de teinture, la canneberge était également utilisée par les Amérindiens comme remède, notamment sous forme de cataplasme, très efficace pour soigner les blessures, ou en infusion, pour calmer certaines douleurs.

La culture de la canneberge a vu le jour au Massachusetts en 1816. Durant les années qui ont suivi, la production s’étendit au Wisconsin, puis au New Jersey. C’est dans les années 1930 qu’on en produisit pour la première fois au Québec. Aujourd’hui, la culture se fait principalement dans le nord des États-Unis et au Canada (Québec, Maritimes, Ontario et Colombie-Britannique). Les États-Unis fournissent environ 85 % de la production mondiale, alors que le Canada en produit 12 %. La canneberge est aussi cultivée dans quelques pays européens, dont la Biélorussie et l’Ukraine. Aujourd’hui, la production québécoise occupe le premier rang canadien.
 
L’industrie de la canneberge au Québec connaît un essor exceptionnel. Nous comptons maintenant plus de soixante-douze producteurs de canneberges dans la province alors qu’il y en avait seulement trois en 1992. Par ailleurs, s’il occupe le troisième rang mondial pour sa superficie cultivée, derrière les États du Wisconsin et du Massachusetts, le Québec est le premier producteur mondial de canneberges biologiques.

Au fur et à mesure que la production de la canneberge gagne du terrain, les entreprises de transformation élargissent leur éventail de produits. Bien que 80 % de la production soit encore transformée en jus, plusieurs autres produits dérivés de la canneberge sont disponibles sur le marché. Au Québec, les fruits transformés sont généralement commercialisés sous la forme de fruits frais, de fruits entiers congelés, de concentrés de jus et de fruits déshydratés.
NUTRA-FRUIT se démarque en vous les proposant en vinaigrettes, confits, gelées, tartinades et coulis, en poudre, enrobées de chocolat et sous forme d’huile de pépins de canneberges. Nous sommes loin de l’époque où la canneberge n’était consommée qu’en sauce pour accompagner la traditionnelle dinde du temps des fêtes.

BOUTIQUE USINE OUVERTE À L'ANNÉE

LUNDI - VENDREDI                                  8h00-16h00     

SAMEDI-DIMANCHE                                          FERMÉ

                      

NUTRA-FRUIT INC.

NOUS JOINDRE

3200, Ave. Watt, Suite 108. Québec, QC G1X 4P8

ADRESSE

  • nutra-fruit
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2017 par Nutra-Fruit Inc.